HomestayFinder  - Helping host families and international students to find each other
Login    
Find a homestay > United Kingdom > England > London Stayed here? Write a review
Traveler rating
15 reviews

Name: Region:
Country: City:
Available from: to:
Prefers guests from: Fee (US$/month):
Meals included? Smoking allowed?
Airport pickup? Pet(s) at home?
Show Map
Need translation?
Try Google Translate
clicking on the flags
ترجمة إلى العربية
العربية
한국어로 번역
한국의
翻译翻译到中国
中国
日本語に翻訳
日本語
Traducir al español
Español
Traduzir para o português
Português
Traduire en français
Français
Übersetzen auf Deutsch
Deutsch
Tradurre in italiano
Italiano
перевод на русском
русский
We are an experienced, friendly and fun host family and live in North London zone 4. Our home is a large welcoming four bedroom semi detached house in Whetstone and can accommodate single independent guests and on occasion a pair of friends travelling together however we are unable to host families. Please note that during UK school term time, your arrival time at our home must be after 5pm Mon-Fri. Weekend arrival times can be more flexible.
The area is safe & green and we have excellent parks, pubs, restaurants, supermarkets, shops and several language schools nearby called Nacel English College & Lexis School of Languages. There is easy access to the tube on zone 4 Northern & Piccadilly lines & reliable local bus routes. We tend to use Arnos Grove tube, a short 6 minute bus ride away, where you can catch the Piccadilly line that reaches Kings Cross in 22 minutes & Covent Garden in 25 minutes. Alternatively you can walk to Totteridge and Whetstone tube comfortably in 15 minutes or a 7 minute bus ride for the northern line that takes you directly to London Bridge, Camden Town, Embankment & Waterloo.
I work in a school and am also a TEFL teacher with a full criminal DBS check. During the UK school holidays, I can provide a 3 hour English lesson in the mornings for a maximum group of 8 students which is ideal for teenage or adult friends wishing to travel together. This group size ensures maximum participation and the opportunity to practice conversation and learn. I have several host contacts in the local area that also offer nice accommodation, many within walking distance of my house so a group of friends would be situated close to one another and thus able to travel around London together safely. Please do contact me for further information and group teaching fees. One to one lessons fees are charged at £20 per person per hour.
My hobbies are various, listening to blues/rock/indie music, attending concerts, travel, reading, cooking, singing, gardening, Zumba dance classes & going to the theatre & cinema. My son Jake is 14 and an avid footballer and squash player, enjoys creative drawing and watching movies and playing computer games.
We very much enjoy meeting people from other parts of the world and learning about other cultures. Over the last 18 years we have had guests stay with us from the United States, Canada, China, Hong Kong, Japan, Australia, Argentina, France, Germany, Spain, Portugal, Poland, Denmark, Holland and Italy. We are hospitable with a good sense of humour so have been delighted to find that many of our guests stay in touch, recommend us to their friends and siblings and some have requested to return to us a year or two after their first visit.
Short term 2-3 week (minimum three nights and to a max of three weeks) Homestay placements are offered on a bed & breakfast basis for £35 pounds per person per night. There is also the option to book a few 2 course evening meals which are charged at £8.00 per day.

Continental breakfast is on offer with a wide choice of cereals, toast, jam, marmalade, crumpets, etc. Dinner is a two course home cooked affair with a number of international dishes as well as the more traditional English menu. I am a keen baker so you can expect some yummy cakes! Please note we try to accommodate personal requests wherever possible.
The single room available is bright and airy with free wi fi access, cupboard, bedside table and chest of drawers. There is also a sunny bright double room available overlooking the garden and a clean modern shared bathroom with power shower and bath. Pictures of us, the house and rooms are available and can be emailed on request. We take pride in providing a friendly place to stay for both leisure travellers & students studying away from home and ensure they are offered the opportunity to converse regularly in English.
If you are interested to stay with this family
Enter your message:
Your email address: Confirm your email:

Google Custom Search
Terms of Use Privacy Statement