HomestayFinder  - Helping host families and international students to find each other
Login    
Find a homestay > United Kingdom > England > Oxford Stayed here? Write a review


Name: Region:
Country: City:
Available from: to:
Prefers guests from: Fee (US$/month):
Meals included? Smoking allowed?
Airport pickup? Pet(s) at home?
Show Map
Need translation?
Try Google Translate
clicking on the flags
ترجمة إلى العربية
العربية
한국어로 번역
한국의
翻译翻译到中国
中国
日本語に翻訳
日本語
Traducir al español
Español
Traduzir para o português
Português
Traduire en français
Français
Übersetzen auf Deutsch
Deutsch
Tradurre in italiano
Italiano
перевод на русском
русский
Hi
We are a friendly host family living in a popular international student area close to Oxford centre. It takes 20 minutes to go via direct bus from Kidlington to Oxford, via the Banbury road, on which, many English Language Schools are situated.
I live with my two children aged 10 yrs and 6yrs. My long term partner also stays quite frequently. We have fish and two Rabbits who live outside. We have been hosting students for many years through the whole year and enjoy it very much. It's a great opportunity for us to learn about different nationalities and we have fun having new additions to the family. It's nice that my own children are growing up in a multicultural environment and I hope it will encourage them to travel when they get older. We now have many friends around the world :-)
If you choose to stay with us, we provide breakfast which you can help yourself to in the mornings, cooked meal every day and packed lunch at weekends when you go on excursions or again, you can help yourself if you wish. I wash and iron clothes and I'm happy to help with homework. We usually sit together at meal times which is a good opportunity to practice your English. I don't have strict rules like many host families seem to have - we all just work together and I'm very flexible. We have free Wifi and I'm happy for you to use the kitchen, again, something many host families don't like. My feeling is, if you're away from home for a long time, you probably will want to cook some of your native food, and that's fine for me. Indeed, it has been great for me to try different dishes over the years and I have learnt to cook many new dishes too. I have had many Korean students and have become great at cooking Bibimbop and Gimbop for example!
My students would be very happy to provide a good reference for us, so if you're interested in staying with us, please email me and I can tell you more and ask some of my students to send you a reference. We could also Skype :-)
I am moving to a new house in Kidlington in September so I cannot provide a photo of the room but could send some photos of my current house so you can get a feel of what our home would be like. I am planning to make a bedroom ensuite in the new house which will be a toilet, small sink and shower. There will be an option then of room only or ensuite room.
I charge the same as the English school I am registered with: 165GBP/week for room only (shared bathroom) or 190GBP/week for ensuite. I ask that you pay a deposit of 165GBP/190GBP 2 weeks in advance of arrival. Unfortunately, if it is not paid, I will have to let the room to another student to ensure I am booked up. I will provide a payment schedule with subsequent payment dates for the duration of your stay.
I look forward to hearing from you,
Regards,
Christine
If you are interested to stay with this family
Enter your message:
Your email address: Confirm your email:

Google Custom Search
Terms of Use Privacy Statement